Let her sing – the reason behind the name

“And just let her cry if the tears fall down like rain.
Let her sing if it eases all her pain.
Let her go, let her walk right out on me.
And if the sun comes up tomorrow, let her be, let her be.”

This is the Hootie & The Blowfish song, Let her cry.  Hootie were one of the first bands I really loved at aged 16 and no one else had even heard from them.  Fast forward 15 + years and the lead singer Darius Rucker is now a country star in his own right.  I’ve always loved this song and the lyrics, but at a recent Darius Rucker gig (18.11.14), he sang this song and I realised that when I’m sad and in pain and struggling with the world, singing* and music makes me feel better. So that’s really what inspired the title and this blog

*Lets be clear I CANNOT sing, but that doesn’t stop me

Leave a comment